Friday, August 11, 2017

First Step Forward & Second Chance Season - Liora Blake


Book & Author Details:

First Step Forward & Second Chance Season
by Liora Blake
(Grand Valley #1 & 2)
Published by: Pocket Books
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance


Synopsis book 1:
Pro-football player Cooper Lowry is off the field and into some trouble—in the form of a very alluring, very free-spirited apple orchard owner named Whitney Reed—in the first installment in Liora Blake’s all new Grand Valley series.
After eight seasons playing pro-football, Cooper Lowry knows all the right answers.
Is he stubborn, short-tempered, and impatient? Yes. Are jersey chasers more trouble than they’re worth? Absolutely. Has he ever imagined a life beyond the game? Nope.
Cooper has built an enviable career—the result of staying focused, working hard, and keeping his head on straight—even as his body takes the brunt. So when a hard hit during a Sunday home game leaves him in a dazed heap on the field, it’s nothing more than another day at the office. The only thing that’s different about this Sunday is a chance encounter with a certain fascinating, beautiful free-spirited woman. And some sternly-worded instructions from his coach to take a little time off and give his body the TLC it craves—before he does lasting damage.
Whitney Reed is a few months away from losing the organic fruit orchard she bought three years ago in the tiny town of Hotchkiss, Colorado. At the time, she was just looking for a place to get lost. Instead, she found a home, somewhere she could finally put down roots. Now foreclosure is knocking on her door—along with a grumpy, gorgeous football player who might be just what she never knew she needed.
A charming love story for romance and sports fans alike, First Step Forward is a sexy, heartwarming romp perfect for readers of Jennifer Probst, Kristan Higgins, and Julie James.

Synopsis book 2:
Return to Liora Blake’s Grand Valley series with Second Chance Season, in which an avowed country boy meets an ambitious city girl who reminds him why dreaming big and taking a chance is worth the risk.
Garrett Strickland is unapologetically country, fiercely loyal, and all about living in the present and not dwelling in the past—even if he was once on his way to a lofty agricultural sciences degree that would guarantee the brightest of futures, only to end up back home when his old man died, leaving behind a debt-ridden family farm that was impossible to keep afloat. After that, it was easy to see why dreaming big wasn’t worth the heartache of losing everything. And until he crosses paths with a city girl who’s hell-bent on kick-starting her own future, he’s sure that good enough is just that.
Cara Cavanaugh is ready for more from life, even if that means changing everything; including dumping her longtime boyfriend, turning down a lucrative job at a major newspaper, and leaving behind the upscale suburbs of Chicago where she grew up. Now, she just has to pray that temporarily relocating to the middle of nowhere in Colorado will be the first step in building a career as a freelance writer—all she has to do is prove she’s got what it takes to make a name for herself. Unfortunately, her tony country day school is as close to country as she’s ever been. But when a goodhearted guy who looks like he just stumbled out of a country music video offers to help, she ends up falling hard…and discovering that the perfect story, as it turns out, is a love story. And it’s theirs.
Second Chance Season, book two in the Grand Valley series, is a charming, feel-good romance, perfect for fans of Jennifer Probst and Kristan Higgins.


Purchase:


AUTHOR BIO:
Liora Blake is a contemporary romance author living in Colorado.

When she isn’t writing, she’s likely baking cookies she shouldn’t eat, inventing elaborate excuses to avoid going for a run, or asking the nice barista to sell her another quad-shot Americano.

Author links:



SECOND CHANCE SEASON (Grand Valley #2) By Liora Blake

EXCERPT #1:
The door swings open a touch harder than I planned, which means it bounces back after hitting the adjacent wall. But Cara scampers in, darting around me and dodging the swinging door. She stops just inside, and then turns on her heel to face me. And, holy hell, the look on her face is everything I could ever ask for. Her chin tipped down, eyes bright and sparked with excitement, lips parted a fraction and a hint of impatience in the way her chest rises and falls with each breath.
I clear the threshold, kicking the door shut behind me. Stalking forward, I pull my coat off and cast it off to the floor, then reach for her. My hands find her hips and I start walking, Cara shuffling backward in time.
Jesus, she‟s so pretty. This delicate beauty that looks fragile one second and strong enough to take your breath away in the next. Such softness about her, but her body is taut almost everywhere. Arms and legs, the flat of her belly, the slope of her back downward. I catch a glimpse of her Pilates contraption and silently offer my undying gratitude to whoever invented that thing.
Cara bumps into the wall with a quiet thump. I grab her wrists in my hands, working them behind her so I can take both in one of mine, using the other to sweep a few stray pieces of her hair off her forehead. She wets her lips and I drive my hips forward with a shove, my cock settling against her core. Then I do it again.
“Fuck. Tell me you feel that, too.”
Cara lets out a gusting exhale. “You‟ll need to be more specific.” A little soft laugh. “I‟m feeling a lot of things at the moment.”
For demonstration‟s purposes, I offer another round. Also, my dick likes it. A lot.
“The way we fit together. Lined up in all the right places. It‟ll be so easy—this, us. My cock comes out, I pull one of your legs up and across my arm, and I‟ll be deep before you say „please.‟”
Cara drops her head back to the wall and it thuds. Hard enough that I scan the features of her face for any sign it hurt, trying to determine if I need to rub the back of her head and soothe away the sting. Nothing. Instead, she pushes her hips forward and straight into mine.
“Do that. What you just said.” Her leg comes up, foot curling around my calf. “Plea—”
I‟m nothing if not a man of my word. I cut her words off with a hard kiss, working my belt open at the same time. The button on my jeans slips free, and I all but tear down the zipper, using one hand to shove down my boxers. Freeing myself is a relief. Another kiss, more fumbling until I‟m able to extract my wallet from a back pocket.
When I lean back to focus on ripping open the condom wrapper, I catch Cara‟s gaze cutting downward, where my dick is up for whatever inspection she wants to perform—visual, oral, or tactile—and all but throwing its own ticker-tape parade to get her attention. Her eyes flare and she tries to fight back a little grin, but fails. Then her hands find me, both of them, those manicured fingers working in a near-perfect rhythm. My eyes fall shut and I freeze in place, my
jaw dropping open on the loudest, most obscene groan that‟s ever left my lungs. She strokes and tugs almost too gently for what I usually like, but for now that‟s probably safer. Too much would make this condom beside the point.
“Garrett.” My name on her lips is a reminder of what‟s happening here. I grab her hands and watch as they slip off my aching cock. A quick glance at her face, where I find her full-on smiling.
I grin back, then bait the hook. Because, lame or not, I‟m just a guy who‟s about to go on a vain cock-motivated fishing expedition for a compliment.
“What are you smiling about?”
She sets her upper teeth to one edge of her bottom lip, with a little disbelieving shake of her head.
“I‟m trying to figure out if you have any weaknesses, a defect of some sort. You‟re funny and helpful, hot and smart. And when you bottle-feed a calf, I get jealous of the attention you‟re giving her. Now this.” She darts her eyes to my cock, the one that would currently be strutting and swaggering around if it were possible. “Is there anywhere you come up short? Anything you suck at?”
I roll the condom on and give myself a long stroke while I think.“Bowling. I‟m totally shitty at bowling.”Cara laughs and everything about me swells, inside and out. I lean forward. “Ready?”

GIVEAWAY
Blitz-wide giveaway (US/CAN)
  • 10 prize packs (incl a print copy of FSF, a print copy of SCS, and one $20 Amazon gift card)



a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments: